Starting Out on the Dedicant Path with the WotY

I received official word that my membership in A Druid Fellowship (ADF) had been approved on August 24, 2016. I have spent several days thoroughly scouring the members’ portion of the website. I always intended since I decided to join to undergo training in the path of ADF since I know little about Indo-European paganism. As a matter of fact I know so little that I have no idea which culture’s gods, goddesses, and spirits I wish to develop a relationship with. I have a challenge laid out ahead of me in terms of both research and practice.

I have taken to heart the motto of A Druid Fellowship: “Why not excellence?” and have decided to take on the more demanding and in depth study plan by Rev. Micheal J. Dangler’s “The ADF Dedicant Path Through the Wheel of the Year”, more commonly called The WotY. I feel it right and proper to accept the more in depth plan rather than the simpler requirements laid out in ADF’s basic Dedicant Manual for a number of reasons:

1. If I truly desire excellence in practicing my new religion I should submit myself to the most rigorous training possible.

2. I owe it to myself to learn as much as possible about the different gods and goddesses of each European ethnic group so I can make as much of an informed decision as possible as to which deities to worship and see which hearth culture truly calls to me.

3. My eventual goal at this point is to obtain clergy status and this more in-depth training will serve me well in further studies. I have known since I was a small boy I was called to be a clergymen. The exact religion I was comfortable in I never could find.

The WatY begins with a three lesson run up, and each lesson is designed to be done in a week, to the first holy day to be celebrated. The first one that I will encounter at this point will be Mabon, September 22, 2016. This is almost four weeks away as I write this. The WotY makes clear that to match up the schedules one can simply take a little more or less time with each lesson to sync up the schedule.

In accordance with the rules of ADF each member must celebrate the holidays, but it is up to each member how to do so, and how elaborate or simple that observance is. I do know one thing I am going to do; I have a very old oak tree in my back garden and I am going to honor it with a good watering, unless of course nature beats me to it. I am also going to fertilize it, something which has never been done in the twenty-two years we have lived here. That tree has supplied shade to the house and a bountiful supply of acorns to the squirrels I so love to watch all this time without me even giving it a thought. I think it is time to thank it. That will be at least one thing I do for Mabon.

Leave a Reply

